Memories of time gone by….

As the days, weeks, months and years speed by at a breathtaking rate, I often take a stroll down Nostalgia Lane.

It may well be a while ago but I remember my primary school days like they were yesterday. I recollect waking up to the smell of freshly baked bread, jumping out of bed and running down to the kitchen to watch my mum put the warm, soft rolls on the table. I conjure up memories of her waving me off at the front door as I walked proudly up the road all by myself to school.

I recall, as if it were yesterday, learning to play the violin and joining the local orchestra on a Saturday morning before heading off to meet my mum at the local market. It’s stuck in my mind, as though it were yesterday, how we used to joke about all the birthday cards she used to bulk buy so that she’d always have one “for emergencies” in case one was needed at short notice. Invariably it was me who ended up raiding her “birthday card drawer” when my friends’ birthdays came around.

It’s clear in my mind, just like yesterday, the feelings of joy, amazement and a slight sprinkling of self-doubt at the birth of my children…..all content, cuddly and warm. I hold dear to my heart, snapshots in my memory of their first faltering steps, their first bike rides without stabilisers, their amusement when they tried to teach me how to roller blade and skateboard….my grazes and bruises were worth it to see their fits of giggles and hysterical laughter – did that really not happen yesterday??

Now, more often than not, if you ask me what recollection I have of what I had for dinner yesterday…….the answer is virtually none.

via Daily Prompt: None

2 thoughts on “Memories of time gone by….

    1. Thank you for commenting and following 🙂 My smartphone constantly buzzes with reminders, yet still I forget…..oh well, I’ll just have to accept that my brain isn’t cloud based with unlimited memory storage space.

      Like

Leave a Reply

